# WHAT TO DO IF YOUR VEHICLE FAILED EMISSIONS

If a vehicle fails either portion of the emissions test, emissions-related repairs must be completed before it is retested.

Vehicles that continue to fail may be eligible for a waiver after a fixed amount has been spent on emissions-related repairs.

# TO BE ELIGIBLE FOR A WAIVER ALL THE BELOW MUST APPLY:

The vehicle has failed inspection for emissions three times.

Engine parameters are set to the manufacturer's specifications.

The vehicle did not fail for visible smoke or missing emissions control equipment.

## THE REPAIR COST HAS EXCEEDED THE LIMIT:

\$75 model year 1968-1980 (all counties) \$200 model year 1981 and newer (Sussex County)

\$1110 model year 1981 and newer (New Castle and Kent Counties)

### ALL REPAIR RECEIPTS, AND VEHICLE INSPECTION REPORTS (VIR) MUST ACCOMPANY THE WAIVER APPLICATION.

### A DNREC CERTIFIED EMISSION REPAIR TECHNICIAN MUST COMPLETE ALL REPAIRS.

documents.dnrec.delaware.gov/Air/inspection-maintenance/Certified-Emission-Repair-Technician-List.pdf



#### SCAN FOR LIST OF CERTIFIED FACILITIES







#### **QUESTIONS?**

DMVCustomerService@delaware.gov

Wilmington 302-434-3243 Delaware City 302-832-5172 **Dover** 302-744-2560 **Georgetown** 302-853-1018

For more information on the amendment to Delaware's Inspection and Maintenance Program and under <u>7 Del. Admin C. §1126</u> and <u>7 Del. Admin C. §1131</u> visit <u>dnrec.delaware.gov</u>.



# APPLICATION FOR EMISSIONS TEST WAIVER

Owner's Name (as appears on registration)			Date Submitted
Address City, State, Zip Code			Please attach all Vehicle Inspection Reports (VIR's) and repair receipts to this application.
County of residence:	Kent New Castle	Sussex	
Vehicle Id	entification Number (VIN)		Tag Number
Model Year	Manufactu	rer	Model
Total cost of repairs applica towards the waiver require FOR OFFICE USE ONLY			Owner's Signature
Verified \$75 Expenditur Verified \$200 Expenditu	e (model year 1980 and older) Ire (model year 1981 and newe cure (model year 1981 and new		le Counties)
STATUS	CERT PERMIT	<u>#</u>	
Approved	Employee Nam	e	
Denied	Employee Signati	ure	
7 Del. Admin. C. § 1126 7 Del. Admin. C. § 1131	Date		

Falsifying information on this waiver application is a Class A misdemeanor and may result in a fine up to \$1000. Original to the Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control.